Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Silver Bullet Member
sks, tokarev, makarov, combloc
2,272 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is a real tragedy. This should serve as an example of why people should not take old military guns to state run gun buy backs. Pictured is a type 38 carbine from Mukden in series 6 serial number 34076. While I am not an expert, Honeycutt book reports that less than 11,000 were made in this series. I am not sure how the bolt is numbered. This one has a matching number on one side of the bolt handle and a different number underneath the bolt handle. Otherwise, the bayonet lug matches. Someone got $50 debit card and now it must be demilled or destroyed. One person told me that he has seen these sell for a $1000 or more.
A desirable collector is lost and the family got a pittance for what their ancestor brought back from WW II.
I plan to use this example to argue to legislators that the buyback programs not only don't work but deprive the family of a proper recovery ( not to mention the loss to the collecting world).
Those who know, let me know what it is worth so I can make my best argument against these programs.
I tried outside shaded pictures and I might go back for better ones.
This one will not be destroyed, yet. It will be rendered unusable and placed with a local military museum. Once on display no one will know it was rendered unusable in ways that will not show. Still it is a loss to collectors and to the family.

·
Registered
8,371 Posts