Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks, I wanted to post this project I'm working on. I've got an archangel stock for this mosin since someone already drilled it for a scope mount. I need to figure out the thread pitch so I can figure out what kind of mount I can put on this. I'm guessing I will need to cut out part of the stock, does anyone have experience making cutouts in an archangel? I'd like to know what the right tool would be for that. Would appreciate any advice since this is my first project like this. Thanks!

- Big Sam

·
Registered
141 Posts
Probably the easiest is to get some screws and see what fits. The standard aftermarket sight screw sizes are 6-48 and 8-40, though it could be whatever the maker wanted it to be... I don't know Mosin scope bases. If you feel this isn't the PU, Weaver side mount or an available aftermarket base, it might be easiest to just cobble up something like the one I made below. I think it was Steve Redgewell's(sp?) design from way back. Your round receiver makes it a bit more difficult for a good fit and some time with a ball end mill would make it much easier I suspect. But, you have plenty of holes there. No sense making any more! Basically, line up the base, clamp in place and mark the front hole. Drill the base, attach with 1 screw. Level it up again, mark and drill the rear hole. Secure and drill the remaining holes. Below is a bit from something I posted years ago.