Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Moisan Nagant rifle.I recently acquired this rifle and absolutely NO idea what it is..Can someone help? It is marked 1898 and serial number N19114. It is 7.62x54R. I was told this was a Russian issued infantry rifle..Were they right??? Anything more you can tell me about it would be appreciated.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
238 Posts
Its a Russian Mosin Nagant m/91 - it has a Imperial Tula Ordnance Factory Hex receiver - seems to be a Finnish capture based on the sling hangers (there should be a SA stamp somewhere on the receiver)

·
Moderator/Silver Bullet Member
17,999 Posts
Likely a rifle purchased by Finland, and not captured by Finland.

If the date on the receiver tang is also 1898 or earlier, this is an antique. If you are not aware of the takedown procedure for viewing the receiver tang date, please educate yourself on the action of the barrel band screws before disassembly, clockwise turn to loosen, counterclockwise turn to tighten.

·
Registered
430 Posts
I could be wrong but that's not the correct bayonet, I believe it's the latter 91/30 bayonet

·
Registered
3,896 Posts
............... If you are not aware of the takedown procedure for viewing the receiver tang date, please educate yourself on the action of the barrel band screws before disassembly, clockwise turn to loosen, counterclockwise turn to tighten.