Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just picked up my MAS 49 the other day, going to try her out this weekend, paid $411 for her so it was a good buy to me since I have seen them selling for $600 on up, she has a clean bore and the wood is excellent :)

Attachments

·
Registered
1,154 Posts
Excellent find at a great price! I love the fact that it still has the black enamel finish.

·
Gold Bullet member
10,481 Posts
Excellent find at a great price! I love the fact that it still has the black enamel finish.
I have seen a fair number of MAS 44 rifles with the black enamel finish, but never a painted 49 or a 49/56 for that matter. Comments? :confused:

PS:

Nice rifle at a good price.

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I am new to buying French rifles, but had always wanted a MAS 44 or 49, bought a 36 on Gunbroker the other day, and now that you mention the black enamel finish, I have mostly seen the parkerized ones and hardly any painted ones, is that what they did to only the MAS 44s and maybe some of the early 49s?

·
Registered
1,091 Posts
Never seen enamel on a '49 either. But then again, I haven't seen many non-Syrian '49's to compare it to. It does look refereb'd at some time. Perhaps it was an eariler referb done when they did the '44's, rather than a post-import "restoration".
However it got painted, it is still a nice piece, and a nice price for a non-Syrian '49. CONGRATS???
Selector67, is it import marked?? if so, is there paint in the stamps??

TOM

·
Registered
3,022 Posts
The early Mas 44 had the black enamel paint finish, The Mas 49 were all parkerized like the Mas 36-51.

kelt

·
Registered
3,022 Posts
The Mas 49 has a dovetail milled on the left side of the receiver to host the APX L 806 scope, such arrangement requires tight tolerances and can't be painted, a paint job on a Mas 49 was not part of the finishing or refurbishing process.