Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys this is my first time posting under the French section of GB. I was in my local gun shop today and the shop owner was selling a MAS rechambered in 308 for $350. I think it was imported by century (CAI). Anyways I was thinking of buying it since it seemed like a cheap price and looked to be in good condition. But a friend of mine told me he read somewhere that a MAS either 36 or 49/56 or both when rechambered in 308 never feed properly. Can anyone shed some light on the issue and if 350 is a good price or not? thanks for the help!

·
Registered
2,065 Posts
they go for about 500 in central pa... i think i read somewhere that the change in caliber was done by the importer... and i think the mags where different ..

·
Silver Bullet member
2,605 Posts
The .308 conversions done by Century sometimes work ok, mainly don't without some tikering. For $350 I think It would be worth the risk. Plenty of people here will follow with good advice on polishing the chamber and adding an adjustable gas valve.

·
Registered
1,394 Posts
The CAI 308's use the original 7.5 firing pin which is heavier than the ones the French used on their 7-5 49/56's. The French primers are quite hard therefore the need for the heavier firing pin. NATO spec primers are not as robust as the French primers. The original 150 or so French built 7.62 NATO chambered rifles had lightened firing pins to help reduce the chance of slam fires. So if you buy this 308 49/56 make sure you fire only NATO spec ammo or if you hand load only use CCI# 34 mil spec primers. I would not shoot any commercial ammo in it.
Last most of the CAI 308 49/56's were very problematic. Make sure you have a return period just in case yours is one that hasn't had the bugs worked out. If it was me I would pass on it.

·
Registered
13,903 Posts