Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
657 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been aware of this Forum for a number of years and have consulted it numerous times. I'm a newbie, here but not to firearms.

I have what I believe is an M 41 Swedish sniper rifle with the AGA m44 scope. If I read things correctly, this rifle was built on an 1896 Carl Gustafs, Mauser pattern rifle with the serial number 810. I believe the rifle has matching numbers all around.

I grew up in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and my father had us shooting .22's by the age of 10. I had qualified as an NRA Sharpshooter 1st Class by the age of 13.

In 1975 (I did the math on this; I was working at "Sam the Record Man" on Yonge Street) I bought my Swedish sniper at a gun shop on Yonge Street where I had purchased other rifles.

I have, to this day, never actually fired the rifle. It has come out of storage twice within the last three years (the rifle is currently in British Columbia, about three hours north of Spokane, WA) as I have entertained selling it. Both times, I was using my brother as an agent for my interest. One time was at a gun show where he sold an old Lend/Lease No 4 Mk.1 Lee Enfield made by Savage Arms in Chicopee, MA for me but the Swede didn't sell because nobody wanted it at the price I was asking. The last time was a little over a week ago when someone who had seen a '95 Spanish Mauser carbine (7 x 57mm) that my brother was showing for me at the same gun show three years previously had expressed a wish to buy it. The carbine had impressed him enough to enquire after it three years later.

I told him about the Swede and allowed as how I was willing to part with both the Spaniard and the Swede if he wished to buy both of them. He wanted to see them.

I put a deal together that I thought was irresistible but he low balled me.