Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
280 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently acquired (read that as given) a US Springfield M1878 rifle. I can't stand having toys that can't be played with. I'm looking for info on low pressure loads that I can fabricate for it (I've been loading since the mid '70's so it's not foreign to me) and shoot safely. I know ideally it should be loaded with charcoal (not literally) but I'd like to find some acceptable smokeless loads for it. Any one here that can steer me to a few sites, or care to share your recipes with me?
Just for the record, I'm not foreign to black powder either. That's all my dad ever had and I've been burning charcoal competitively for the last 35 years in the CWSA (the left-coast equivalent to the NSSA). This just happens to be my first bp cartridge gun and don't want to break my new toy.
Thanks
Jon

·
Silver Bullet Member
323 Posts
I'd try Al Fraskas US trap door info center. I know they have black powder load info but I'm thinking I saw smokeless there as well. While I don't recommend it I used to use 10 unique behind a 425 grain slug. Very mild load and shot to the sites at 50 yds. It was the 1879 rear site. Been a few years since I could use sites like That though. Good luck, Jaeger.

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
I'm not sure what you mean by an 1878 Springfield, unless you mean one manufactured in 1878. Regardless, there are many good, safe, smokeless loads that can be used in any of the weak-action rifles and carbines including the trapdoors. One that I have used for years is 40 grains of IMR 3031 and a 350 grain Hornady RN jacketed bullet.

Most all of the commercial loads by the major manufacturers are safe in the trapdoors. They have been using smokeless since the turn of the 20th century.

Ray

·
Registered
379 Posts
1873 Trapdoor Springfield Rifles are routinely misnamed as 1878 models, due to difficult to read stamp. There was no 1878 model.

http://trapdoorcollector.com/FAQ.html