Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Super Moderator
11,135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yo Gents,

While I have been directly involved with importing firearms from Europe and other locals INTO the US, I have no direct knowledge of the legal requirements to export a firearm?

I have a friend here in Moscow who has legal permits for his collection as well as the connections required to legally import collector firearms from outside of Russia.

He wants to acquire a Model 1905 Colt and export it (ONLY if legally possible!) from the US to Russia? I have NO IDEA if this is possible and have offered to seek advice for him only! I have neither the time nor inclination to get in the middle of something like this! However trying to obtain info for him in order to either tell him it is NOT POSSIBLE or in the event that it is, to point him in the right direction.

For imports I have always used Leroy's, but know nothing about exports other than antiques.

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide in the way of advice.

Warmest regards,

JPS

·
Registered
4,357 Posts
Can't this place called Leroy's be contacted and asked?.If they can handle imports,they should be able to arrange shipping outside of the US also,and will know the rules about such matters.

·
Platinum Bullet Member
603 Posts
I am looking for the same information.
Here is the link to my thread:
http://forums.gunboards.com/showthread.php?t=5357
Few days ago I got following e-mail from BATF (I hope you will find it helpful):

"Good morning. ATF does not regulate the exportation of firearms from the United States. The agency that does control exportations is the US Department of State, Defense Trade Controls. They can be reached at (202) 663-1282. Good luck."

·
Registered
170 Posts