Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
446 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although I really like my milsurp collection, they are all right handed. The idea of long range shooting is intriguing to me.
Anyway to the question.
I'm looking to get a left handed bolt gun; thinking something in 300WSM, but I'm open to other ideas.
Not a hunter, just looking for an accurate target shooter. I've done a little reading and the 300 WSM looks like a good round.
The rifle chooses so far look like Savage model 16 FLHSS, or Remington 700 CDL.
Trying to keep the rifle under $1K, and somewhere around $400 to $500 for a decent scope.
I know this budget doesn't get into a high end long range shooter, but should work fairly well.
Any ideas, comments would be helpful. I'm new at this longer range stuff.

·
Diamond Bullet Member
1,969 Posts
Everyone is different but if it were me -

I'd get a Remington SPS Varmint in .308. I don't know anything about Savage, but have heard good things. You didn't say what ranges you plan to shoot but you'll want a heavier barrel, and usually 26". I don't have any experience with 300WSM, but the more you shoot, the more you'll appreciate the recoil of a smaller caliber. If you are shooting at ranges under 500 yds I'd go with a .22-250 or .223.

The money you save on the rifle - spend on the glass. Get the best you can afford.

·
Platinum Bullet member
20,637 Posts
If you already have a bunch of bolt action milsurps, you're no stranger to operating them. You may well find the lefty action to be more annoyance than advantage.

Years ago I got a smokin' deal on a 700 BDL in .30-06 ... lefthanded bolt. Sure, it's comfy to shoot with the lefthanded action, but I so seldomly shoot it, compared with the bunch of Mausers & Mosins, that I find no advantage in purposefully buying one.

Given a do-over, I'd pass on the lefty action.

·
Registered
1,743 Posts