Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
190 Posts
Sigh...don't get me wrong - the show looks like it was great as usual: I've been reenacting since 1976 - Rev. War, Civil War, WWI, WWII but pictures like these remind me why I've basically done very little of it in recent years. Too many reenactors (and I include myself in this lot) are too old and too "robust" (fat) to put on a realistic impression. When I was 22, 30 pounds lighter and with no gray hair, sure...I could do any impression and look great (and I did). Also, and in some ways this is an even bigger sin as far as I'm concerned, everyone looks like they just stepped out of GQ centerfold in their freshly dry-cleaned uniforms! C'mon guys! Jeez, in MY DAY (yeah, yeah, walked to school in the snow up hill both ways) we'd actually seek out mud puddles to roll around in just before a show and I never, NEVER had my German WWI uniform cleaned. It was dusty, frayed, had a couple of repairs and MG grease/fouling on the cuffs from my 08-15.

· Registered
190 Posts