Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I went around looking for you. The weather was warm and dry with a lot of dust blowing around. During the evening a cold front with rain moved in and made some very realistic conditions for us. The temps. were in the low 40's and lots of rain. Saturday ended up being a replay of Friday night with highs in the 40's and more rain in the afternoon. Other than the weather, there was lots of activity and lots of sitting and waiting.....kinda like the real war I suppose.

Maybe I am one of the odd re-enactors out there, but I actually prefer the realism of being forced to sit in the trench and not popping caps.

·
Registered
190 Posts
Sigh...don't get me wrong - the show looks like it was great as usual: I've been reenacting since 1976 - Rev. War, Civil War, WWI, WWII but pictures like these remind me why I've basically done very little of it in recent years. Too many reenactors (and I include myself in this lot) are too old and too "robust" (fat) to put on a realistic impression. When I was 22, 30 pounds lighter and with no gray hair, sure...I could do any impression and look great (and I did). Also, and in some ways this is an even bigger sin as far as I'm concerned, everyone looks like they just stepped out of GQ centerfold in their freshly dry-cleaned uniforms! C'mon guys! Jeez, in MY DAY (yeah, yeah, walked to school in the snow up hill both ways) we'd actually seek out mud puddles to roll around in just before a show and I never, NEVER had my German WWI uniform cleaned. It was dusty, frayed, had a couple of repairs and MG grease/fouling on the cuffs from my 08-15.

·
Registered
1,413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If you think my uniform is clean.....I would hate to see what your definition of dirty is! ;^) I leave a dust trail when I walked around in my kit. Also, there were at least 4 guys in those photos that are new recruits, so they are wearing new uniforms.

·