Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,398 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Folks, I could use some advice. I am new to military rifle collecting. I have a couple of Chilean Mausers 1895 (one long rifle and one short) and I've recently requested the forms needed for getting a C&R License :). I'm trying to plan ahead for what my first purchases will be but I need some help. I really like the Mausers I've gotten so far but I'm open to other military rifles. I am 60 years old and really not in the market for anything that is going to kill my shoulder having fun with it. Having said that, I'm really open to any and all advice that you might have for me. Any suggestions for a couple of my next purchases? This is my first post on this forum and I've really enjoyed reading everyone's comments. Thanks for any and all help.

·
Silver Bullet member
2,402 Posts
Get yourself a Swedish Mauser. Very well made. Light recoil for the Swedish 6.5 round. Nice ones can be found for around $250-300. Welcome to Gunboards. Have fun.

·
Gold Bullet member
248 Posts
Might want to think about 7mm chamberings too...lots of south american Mausers chambered in that caliber and they won't break the bank unless you're looking for mint examples. Recoil is maybe not quite as easy on the shoulder as a 6.5 but way less than an 8mm.

·
Banned
10,843 Posts
mauserdad nailed it. Start with Swedes. Two makers of M96, two makers of M94, one maker of M38 and then there are conversions M94/14 and M96/38. You could build a tidy collection in a couple of years if you do not look for mint specimens.

·
Registered
6,642 Posts
I really like the Mausers I've gotten so far but I'm open to other military rifles. I am 60 years old and really not in the market for anything that is going to kill my shoulder having fun with it.
Type 99 Arisaka. Easy to reload for once you get the brass and very easy on the shoulder.

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
There are a lot of mausers out there.