Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I acquired, IMO, a nice example of a 1941 Johnson Automatic Rifle this weekend, B26xx serial number range. It looks pristine. I can't tell if it is all original or if it was professionally refurbished. The parkerization is flawless as is all the meatal parts. The wood is in excellent condition with only one very small dent on the right side. IMO. the markings are all sharp and clear with no signs of "shinny" metal at the bottomg of the marks. Bore is bright and shinny with no signs of wear that I can see. The chamber looks like it is brand new - there are no wear marks from the bolt fingers rubbing against the locking cuts. The bolt face shows no signs of wear. I am not an expert in being able to tell if a gun has been professionally refurbished, so any help with things I should look for would be appreciated. I paid $5K for it (+ $300 sals tax). I think I got a decent deal on it. Attached are a few pictures... please excuse the poor caryola job on highlighting the markings....

View attachment 2174226 View attachment 2174242 View attachment 2174258 View attachment 2174266 View attachment 2174282

·
Platinum Bullet Member
947 Posts
From the pictures provided that looks like a beautiful Johnson. You need to lose the white filler in the markings, it distorts the finish...but by the finish it is either a pristine example of original park, or very nicely redone. The wood has the right coloring to be original as well. Is the chamber in the white? Is the barrel ring marked ".30-06" and "41"? Don't worry about the numbers matching, it isn't critical. Can you provide some more detailed and closeup pictures?

Well bought.

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Any markings on the barrel? Should be a couple of numbers.
I'll have to look again. I know it has the 30-06 and '41 on the front of the locking ring.

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·