Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sorry if this a total newbie question but while I was cleaning my new M39, the bore felt a little tighter. I decided to check it against my other Mosins using a cartridge inserted at the end of the barrel. I'm not sure if this a proper way to do this, but the results concerned me.
Well, I'll let the pics speak for themselves.

·
Diamond w/Oak Clusters and Swords Bullet Member
None of your business.
17,532 Posts
"Crown moved back" is known as a counter bore. This is not a problem either. Your M39 is just fine. The counter bore is a modification done to recrown an other wise worn muzzle. Easier than cutting the barrel and resetting the front site.

I just put it in more words than ij70 did. He said the very same thing, just different. :)

·
Registered
112 Posts
Note your M39 is going to be bit smaller bore than the M44s and M91/30s.
Most likely around .3095, as the M44s and M9130s are about .311 (303 rifle bullets). Concur with other your rifle has been counter bore, no big deal, should shoot great! Remember to leave your bayonet out when target shooting as that is how they sited in the M44s.

·
Registered
4,353 Posts