Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Platinum Bullet Member
4,612 Posts
I'm no expert by any means, but...

There's a lot that looks good about it, and some not so good. That looks like the Afghan gov't crest, but the lettering appears crude, and the proofs a bit iffy. Without books handy, I don't remember much about the actual Afghani pieces. Maybe somebody will chime in that's closer to their reference material.

I'd want to see some LSA inspectors' marks on it before I thought about spending anywhere near that kind of money on it, though.

I'm afraid I'll have to give it a firm "maybe, maybe not" at this point. If it's a fake, it's by far the best I've seen.

·
Copper Bullet member
9,432 Posts
I don't like the "Crown" stamp, and is "ER" correct for the time period of the rifle? Elizabeth became queen in 1952-ish.
Keep in mind I'm no expert.

·
Platinum Bullet Member
4,612 Posts
'E' for Edward...Edward VII. Victoria's son.

·
Registered
14,761 Posts
'E' for Edward...Edward VII. Victoria's son.
1901-1911. If that's a copy, the guy who made it must have worked in the U.K.
Note even the crest is properly stamped, Looks good to me and the letters and numbers are properly aligned.
Most Afghan copies have individualy stamped letters that are uneven and spelling is not one of their strong points.

·
Copper Bullet member
9,432 Posts
Ahh, forgot about him.

·
Administrator
9,440 Posts
?Afghani official No1 MkI???

definitely an original LSA rifle, in complete and original condition (Factory inspection marks, broad arrows, etc, on parts ( most LSA and BSA Foreign contracts used up British inspected parts, hence the broad arrow);

Only the Afghan mark may be spurious...of course, it may have been applied in Afghanistan, so would look a bit "iffy".

Until I had a very close and personal inpection of the item (inside especially), I would say it is a legitimate LSA product.
BTW, ER with the King's Crown (diff. from Queen's Crown) is Edwardus rex, 1902-1911.