Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3,758 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Legit or "aged" repro?
Seller is claiming it is original but the scabbard looks like it is new, zero dirt and such, stitching is snow white.

The double stamp is not the big issue, it's how spaced out the text is running the whole way across?
The . in the SKY looks misplaced?

·
Registered
73 Posts
I'm no expert by any means, but I'll answer the best I can while comparing your pictures and the info you included with my M39 bayonet and scabbard.

The scabbard itself sounds like a telltale reproduction scabbard.

As you mentioned, the Veljekset Kulmalan Konepaja stamp does look a bit spaced out, and the text itself looks a little larger and just "thicker" than that on my bayonet, and even larger and "thicker" on the Sk.Y stamp. All three letters of the Sk.Y stamp look slightly different than the letters on my bayonet, and also the letters of Vic's bayonet pictured on this page: http://www.mosinnagant.net/finland/Finn-bayonets.asp Compared to both your pictured bayonet and the bayonet pictured on Vic's page, notice the differences of the thickness of the S, the k being slightly smaller in Vic's pictured bayonet than yours, and the Y having a wider fork in Vic's picture. And again as you mentioned, the "." in Sk.Y does look misplaced. It might just be hard to see in your pic but the =S= stamp seems to be lacking the = marks. The "rivets" (not sure what they're called) on the grip of your pictured bayonet look like they're set deeper than in mine, and the edges look round compared to the more jagged look that both mine and Vic's pictured bayonet.

I'd say it's a repro. I did a lot of homework before I got mine, so when I came across it for a bargain price I knew exactly what I was looking for in picking out the differences between real and repro M39 bayonets.

And sorry for the wall of text.

·
Diamond Member
7,320 Posts