Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've had a shooter 1903 & A3 before, but I just picked up my first collectible one and wanted to know if it is "correct". The gentleman that I bought it from said that his grandfather was a gunsmith and had bought 3 Remington A3's & a Smith-Corona from the DCM back in the late 50's / early 60's, with the intention of sporterizing them. Fortunately, he never got around to it and they ended up stored in his attic for decades. The seller said that his grandfather had never shot any of them and that they all were in pristine shape. This Remington (12-43 barrel) was the only one that he was selling, as he was keeping the other three (he even had the orginal DCM boxes for 2 of those 3).

As stated above, my first question is whether this gun appears to be "correct" as built or a possible rebuild? It looks like it has the right mix of parked & blued parts to be original, but I'm no expert, so I simply don't know.

My last question is about the rack number. What do you think the history of this rifle may be? Would this have been a domestic rifle or a foreign return to the DCM?

Any information that you guys could provide would be greatly appreciated!

Mike

Attachments

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Looks absolutely correct as built, all Remington. Rack number is US; no rifles sold by DCM in that timeframe were foreign returns. Nice condition all around!
Thanks Brad, you answered both of my questions. Based on the wear to the buttplate, I wonder if this was a ceremonial rifle of some sort? The bore is as-new, so I doubt that any blanks were ever shot from it.

·
Gold Bullet member
4,345 Posts