Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been hunting for an unmodified Ag m/42 for more than 25 years but have never found one for sale. I’ve held the two examples at Springfield Armory collection and a low serial numbered trials rifle held in a private collection in the US. This is the 4th example that I am aware of in the United States.

Attachments

·
Registered
603 Posts
I’ve been hunting for an unmodified Ag m/42 for more than 25 years but have never found one for sale. I’ve held the two examples at Springfield Armory collection and a low serial numbered trials rifle held in a private collection in the US. This is the 4th example that I am aware of in the United States.
Is the rear sight in calibration for round nosed bullets? Just curious. Nice score!!! PM sent.

James

·
Administrator
19,289 Posts
What makes it different?

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
The rear sight on this one is calibrated for the round nosed bullet.

According to Janson's article on the Ag 42, the Ag42 was modified to Ag 42 B by:

1) changing the gas tube to a stainless steel to prevent rusting
2) the magazine design had a hook added at the front to prevent the magazine from being released by accident
3) the recoil spring was changed to a double wire construction
4) the bolt carrier cover was modified by adding a round button to each side and a rubber brass deflector was added to the right side to reduce the damage on fired brass (the original bolt carrier looks much more like an Egyptian Hakim with the serrations and heavy wire side extensions)
5) the trigger mechanism was modified
6) the extractor was redesigned
7) the original tube cleaning rod was found to be very weak and was changed to the standard m38 cleaning rod
8) the modified rifle is stamped B on the receiver near the serial number