Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon y'all, I am fairly new to the Swiss rifle club but have been enjoying it maybe a bit too much. I picked up a Schmidt Rubin 1911 with some West German Anschutz target sights on it a couple months back and am now a familiar face at my local range. Now with the current GP-11(or any ammo for that matter) situation I am starting to consider getting into hand loading when primers start showing up again. I've read across a couple of forums about people being worried about shooting GP-11 out of a 1911 and swearing they'd only shoot it out of a K-31 and use a lighter load for their 1911. The reasoning behind this is that the 1911's locking lugs are located in the middle of the bolt (supposedly weaker) compared to the k-31 (front lugs). Does anyone know of any comparisons in bolt strength/ideal pressure dependent on lug position? Even just personal experience would be appreciated. In an ideal world I'd love to recreate the performance of GP-11 in my rifle or at the very least be able to shoot a moderate power round without worrying about the longevity of my gun too much.

·
Gold Bullet member
7,893 Posts
The K11 was designed to shoot GP11. If you remove the bolt from both a K31 and K11, you may observe that the locking lugs of the K11's bolt sleeve are dimensionally larger than the K31's. In other words, more steel keeps the K11 bolt closed than the K31's.

·
Registered
7,734 Posts
The Swiss certainly shot millions of rounds of GP11 thru 96/11s, 1911 rifles and carbines over the last 100 plus years. I think any strength limitations would be very obvious to us all by now.

·
Premium Member
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4