Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Silver Bullet member
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just received an untouched 1837 Brunswick from IMA. I will post more pics later but I wanted to get an opinion on this crack at the end of the fore stock and it's repair-ability. Seems like I should be able too what do you think? Norm? anyone else?

·
Registered
822 Posts
That?? Heck yeah. Just clean the area very well, apply epoxy, clamp, and wipe excess with mineral spirits. Obviously, you'll need a barrel escutcheon....IMA should be able to assist with that. Congrats!

·
Silver Bullet member
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
What is a barrel escutcheon? LOL Sorry noob here. Also if I follow Norms plan I cover both my snider and brunswick in ACE paint thinner and clean again with Super clean. Then I put on WD and work on dis assembly? Sound right. If so, How long do you leave the paint thinner and super clean on before wiping? Thanks for your help

·
Registered
822 Posts
The escutcheon is where the barrel key goes through..the thing that attaches the barrel and the stock....that odd shape in the stock where it looks like something is missing? That's it...you should see similarly shaped ones on both sides of the stock. Before you do anything, think about the final product.....what are you looking to do? If you want to maintain the original finishes of the wood and metal, then you need to take one route......if you want to strip it down to the bare wood/metal and start over, then another route is required. Figure out what you want, first....

·
Registered
822 Posts