Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I posted this over at the CMP forum, so here it goes here:

Folks, I just got done doing a quick look-see over what might be a British Lend/lease rifle. Here are the "qualifiers" I see so far, please correct me or weigh in on this as I NEED help. I am not a Garand expert by any means..:

Proper SA GHS and cross cannon stock cartouche, along with circle-P on wrist
Proper serial number placing it as a November of 41 made
Remnants (about 75%) of the red paint on the front forearm
Proper front sight with protective plug over adjusting screw
Proper SA 11-41 on barrel
Proper British BNP and more brit proofs on barrel

Sound good to you?

The guy from whom this was purchased from has had it since the 1960's, which is another plus. He is checking on paperwork, as he may have something to authenticate it. Along with this Garand was a couple nice early carbines (with DCM paperwork) and a first year production (1945) Colt Sistema. He also had a bunch of bayonets, ammo, etc... The guy was just clearing it out "for someone else to enjoy", as he put it.

Any advice would be cherished.
Thanks,
dave

·
Premium Member
3,090 Posts
So far, so good. You need to look at all the parts - bolt, op rod, rear sight, etc. and make sure they match.

The BNP is a British export mark and is not a sign of L/L usage.

Can I ask how much you're paying? I hope a LOT - if you're getting it for a steal price I may slash my wrists! A L/L M1 has been on my "want" list for a considerable time!

·
Registered
1,666 Posts
Please post the data from the trigger group, bolt and op rod. Two of my LL M1s are of that vintage, via Scott Duff.

I had 4 LL M1s, but sold one to finance an AI AWP that was at a must buy price.

It is all still out there.

·
Gold Bullet member
4,331 Posts