Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello, i recently got a Johnson 1941 30-06 rifle from my grandfather and i have a few questions about it. From what i know it is an original made by cranston arms and the serial # is 9307. I looked in his belongings for the bayonet lug but i can not find it. The bore is in great shape with no pit and no corrosion but the outside of the gun does have a little surface rust in some places. Of the johnsons i have seen online my guns seems to have better wood with only a few military scratches and no big cracks. Is this type of gun in this condition worth selling or should i keep it, because i really have no use for it. I am a college student so keep that in mind. Thanks for any replies.

·
Gold Bullet member
1,220 Posts
First, congrads on the Johnson. They are few and far between. It sounds like it may be on of the sporterized ones that were sold in the 50's if the lug is missing. Does it have the metal butt plate or one of the plastic or recoil pads? Even so, it is still worth a fair amount to some collectors that want to find parts to restore it. I read a post on the boards in the last day or so about finding one for $1500. If it is org. military config. the price increases several times. Some at auction recently have sold for $7000. The bayonet alone have been selling for around $500. I do have one in very good org. condition that I got for a good price but is still one of the most expensive guns I've ever bought. I have the bayonet and scabbard with mine. It will turn heads at the range. Only you can say keep or sell. As a former starving collage student I'm sure while the cost of keeping it is nothing and the moneys from selling it will come in very handy, it was your grandfathers gun and that comes into play.

·
Registered
589 Posts