Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Platinum Bullet Member
553 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been working on my family tree and found a relative who was in the German army. His name is Eberhurd H Klapecke (b. 15.7.1887 Saxony d. 16.2.1916 in Belgium). I know nothing more on him and obviously would like to know more. Is there anywhere I can look on the web?

dg13

·
Registered
8,164 Posts
I'm not an expert in the searching for war graves. If somebody finds the place and/or name of the cemetery this man is supposed to be buried I'll try to find him and search for someone who can make us a photo of the tombstone/massgrave. Those acquainted with searching for German WWI casualties could be of great help. BTW, the christian name probably is "Eberhard" with an "a". Please try to check this. (Eberhard means "Strong wild boar", as far as I know).

·
Super Moderator
4,185 Posts
I tried what I could with the German war graves comission: http://www.volksbund.de/graebersuche/

No luck, not with Eberhurd or Eberhard or Eberhart... Big Commander is right, it has to be Eberhard, not Eberhurd.

In the end I submitted a request for them to search their archives, they still have people archived who are as of now not in the digital archives. Digitalizing the entire archives of German war dead and missing in action is a huge job!

with both death date and birth date I'm pretty sure they should find him, but it may take a few days before I get an answer.

So, patience please. There should be an answer coming if not today.

·
Platinum Bullet Member
553 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
His name could be spelled Eberhard H Klaphecke. The family spells it that way now.

Thank all of you for your help.

dg13

·
Super Moderator
4,185 Posts