Printed from: Gunboards
Topic URL: http://old.gunboards.com/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=217106
Printed on: 09/19/2007
Topic:
Topic author: Duckbill
Subject: Husky H-5000
Posted on: 03/18/2007 4:02:05 PM
Hello,
Newbie here with some info request. I just won an auction for a Tradewinds Husky H-5000 30-06. I've been reading up on the Husqvarnas and am really intrigued by them. This particular rifle has me a bit stumped by two things, though. One is that on the barrel it reads "Made in Germany". The other is that it has a detachable magazine. Ser# 170XXX. Here are a few pics from the auction page. I'm still waiting to receive the gun, but wanted some info before it gets here. Thanks in advance.

Replies:
Reply author: kriggevaer
Replied on: 03/18/2007 5:21:42 PM
Hi Duckbill,
Well, your rifle is actually a German made Krico (Kriegskorte)and not a Husqvarna. Is the barrel stamped "Made in Sweden". If it isn't it is all German. The "Husky" name was used by Tradewinds on these rifles. Not sure why. They are well built rifles, just not Swedish.
Reply author: daniel phillips
Replied on: 03/18/2007 5:54:33 PM
i believe from memory, tradewinds owned the "husky" name trademark and got into a deal with krico and inported under the same name and h-5000 these rifles, it caused one of the many confusions around putting different lables on the same guns/ and putting same labels on different guns as in this case. thanks to market opportuities show me the money. daniel phillips
Reply author: Duckbill
Replied on: 03/18/2007 7:47:59 PM
Hey guys. Thanks for the replies. I would be a bit dissapointed that it's not an HVA, but I like unique guns. I'll probably be happy with it just the same.
Any idea what kind of action that is? FN maybe?
Reply author: kriggevaer
Replied on: 03/18/2007 8:25:42 PM
The actions are Krico designed and made in Germany. They are a bit unusual.
Replied on: 03/18/2007 9:05:55 PM
quote:Originally posted by kriggevaer