Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all: Please excuse this post but I am going ask the question anyway. I just purchased a new in the box Mak IJ-70 and the paperwork is dated 1994. Its been sitting for 13 years in the box.

My question, before I head to the range, should I break it down, clean and lube or what? If so, what do I need to pay attention to? Also, what should the first rounds be? I have some Sellier & Bellot in a 24 rd white box and what looks to be military ammo in a brown 16rd box. How many should I fire before it is considered broken in. I am new to Makarov and really like the feel. I want to take care of the pistol and intend to use it as a regular target pistol and backup defense weapon.

Thanks for your assistance. Cheers T.I.

·
Super Moderator
6,318 Posts
Hello tweintraub,

Remove the slide and if you have some Q-tips clean with oil the inside of the slide and around the chamber and sear. Clean the barrel of course. If you see a lot of grease and / or dirt, you'll want to do a more thorough cleaning but if it's new in the box you probably won't find cosmoline and a fairly cursory cleaning may suffice.

Remove the safety and firing pin and lightly oil the firing pin channel and pin.

Then oil the parts that rub - the sear pins, along the frame rails, the hammer - just look at parts that interact and lightly oil them.

About that 16-round ammo: it is corrosive. If you fire that beware of the cleaning that follows.

Also - I'm looking for Chinese Military ammunition in 16-round boxes. Could you tell me the headstamp? I make a great buyer.

EDIT: I see you said it was S&B in a 16-round box. If it's S&B it will be in a 24-round white box with a headstamp "9 mmM S & B" - that is not corrosive. I may be confused about what you described?

·
Registered
192 Posts
Clean and Shoot

Buy about 500 rounds and blast away till they are gone, the clean it again.

·
Super Moderator
6,318 Posts