Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just had a rear sight installed on my shotgun, and the gunsmith used soft solder . Now I am getting this gun coated with Gun Kote,so I am spending quite a few $$ on it and a guy on another forum told me the soft solder will eventually let go. I have no knowledge of solder. Can anyone tell me how permanant and reliable is this type of soldering ??

Thanks !

CaptainStef1

·
Gold Bulllet Member
2,393 Posts
Cap'n, If it is a good 100% joint you should have no problems. I have soft solderd front and rear sights and never had one come off. Cheers chester.

·
Registered
3,276 Posts
The secret to a strong soft solder sight job is the fit of the sight to the barrel.

Done right, it'll stay put unless you whack it with a hammer.

·
Registered
230 Posts
As usual, I am coming in late in a conversation ..... I have used soft solder on numbers of firearms over the years. For example, I have cut off a worn front sight on a broomhandle Mauser and soldered a newly fabricated one on the flat that remained. Many of my blackpowder handguns have had newly fabricated sights soldered in place (since they never shoot to point of aim out of the box.)

Some of the better soft solder alloys will have tensile strengths in the 4000 psi. range. Brownells and Midway are good places to look. You can find the same stuff (sometimes) at hardware stores and such (check the specs on the roll or box.) Fit, preparation, and the correct flux are the keys to a good job.

Remember that the surface area of the solder bond will ultimately dictate how strong the end result will be. If you are trying to solder something that only presents a tiny surface area, it may not be a good candidate for a solder repair. As an example, if you try to increase the height of a thin sight blade by soldering a thin extension to the blade, you would likely break it off the first time it gets bumped.