Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Copper Bullet member
237 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to collecting and don't want to start a flame war about MM. I was just wondering how you know when you run across a MM from someone other than the original seller.

Do they sell K98s as well as M48? Do they have any special markings?

Thanks!

·
Gold Bullet member
7,131 Posts
MM's k98's are fairly easy to spot if they are in the condition that they were issued.
The bolts will be "in the white", polished steel rather than blued.
The stocks will look bleached out and sanded, nowhere near original German issue.
The ONE I handled at a show also had clear slime applied to the stock, but this may have been done by the owner rather than MM.

·
Registered
362 Posts
There is only one way to tell a Mitchell's.

Look at the import stamp on the front of the barrel. It will have MM CA.

You cannot tell if a rifle is a Mitchell's by the parts or stock, since they can be replaced in ten minutes and any combination imaginable could be used.

While its true that Mitchell's K98s have certain characteristics, it is not a sure tell.

Also, Mithchell's M48s also have certain characteristics, but some do not have sanded stocks and pimped up parts.
Some are all original from the factory. Mithchells has a contract with the factory for new rifles.
I recently found one in our shop that looked all original in perfect unissued cond. from the factory. I was suprised to see the MM import stamp.

The MM on the barrel at least shows for certainty that it is a Mitchell's imported barrel and probably receiver.

Mitchell's M48s are a different ball game than the K98s.

Most, probably not all M48s from Mithchell's are new from the factory and a good percentage have sanded stocks.
Some have incorrect parts, probably due the crack team of sanders not replacing the correct parts when they are tore down for sanding.