Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Gold Bullet Member
9,970 Posts
Peened barrel & receiver stamps, these rifles are often referred to as "Balkan" rifles, where their final place of service in a former Soviet country is.....up for some debate - Frequently these have unknown letter stamps, what they represent nobody knows......Unless Ratniks book has shed some light.....

Pahtu.

·
Platinum Bullet Member
3,615 Posts
Can you take and post more pictures? Any other markings, stock markings or repairs, is there a "wedge" under the rear sight usually center punched on edges to keep in place? I would of guessed Balkan/Romanian but the crest doesn't appear to be ground down but picture is poor. Some were ground down a lot and some were not. But it doesn't looked terribly messed with but again the pics are dark and not very descriptive. I am very new to SCW rifles and traits too. But if the rifle is not obviously Finn SA marked or have the rear sight marks lined out and restamped on right side of rear sight base, those are the normal guesses. Need more pics with more details. I think many of the Romanian imports had a "G" added to prefix or end of SN but not where your "G" is stamped. The Serb rifles I though had a "C" stamped but don't recall the "G". The Serb "C" was stamped in the same place on a few of my rifles. At this point I am only guessing but more pics will aluminate or eliminate some of the guessing. Regards, John.