Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Field Editor ~ GUNS Magazine, Co-Author ~ Serbian Army Weapons of Victory &PH - Kudu Safaris
11,754 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Gents,

It’s nice to be home and we’re managing to catch up on both sleep as well as work around the house.

I would greatly appreciate some input from the “Peanut Gallery” regarding the collar insignia on this tunic?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320541238460&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

Any and all input would be greatly appreciated. The photo isn’t entirely clear, but based on what I can make out it looks like a hunting horn over the lightning bolts of the telegraph/communications units???

Also, any idea regarding the medals represented by the ribbons on the tunic?

Thank you one and all for your help with this.

Warmest regards,

JPS

·
Premium Member
4,185 Posts
Now, I have no knowledge at all about this insignia, but I will suggest a theory based on how we did things here in earlier times....

It may be a hunting horn as you suggest, but it might perhaps be a postal horn? It might be the insignia of some (military?) mail service? I cannot say anything about how the Austro Hungarians would do it, but here state services would have a logo with crossed lightning bolts, for instance the railway logo here was a winged wheel over crossed lightning bolts, I think the postal logo was also at one time a postal horn over crossed lightning bolts. This might possibly be an Austro Hungarian mailmans uniform?

I'm not saying that this is more than a theory, but the horn has been used as a postal logo in many countries.

·
Registered
4,318 Posts
Hey John,
I would agree with BC that this is a postal insignia, but I can not confirm it. I can not find any such insignia in any of my books, but I think you still did well on the tunic, I think it may be OK, although the markings are not what one would expect.
Best
Gus

·
Diamond Member
4,292 Posts