Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,714 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Last gun show I pick up a 1903-A3 barreled receiver. The barrel is new and short chambered but mfg is unknown in 30-06. This is my first try at finish reaming a chamber. I "guess" I went too far with the reamer because the bolt closes on my no-go guage, even though I only barely touched it with two revolutions of the reamer. I chambered a round and it closes nicely with no play in the bolt. I then put in a field guage and it does not close with the rear lug at about the 2:00 position. I then put 2 pieces of scotch tape on the round, that's about .004, and the bolt does not readily close without hard pressure squishing the tape. I believe rifle is safe to fire and just fishing around for a little advice. Also is a picture of the round and you can see on the shoulder where it mated to the chamber. Thanks

THIS IS WHERE THE BOLT CLOSES ON THE NO-GO GUAGE

THIS IS WITH THE FIELD GUAGE:

THIS IS THE ROUND I USED AND YOU CAN SEE MARK ON SHOULDER WHERE IT MATES WITH CHAMBER

·
Registered
2,080 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
If it won't close on the Field gauge it's OK to shoot.
True, but if you are a hand loader, you will be stretching the crap out of your brass.

I like tight chambers. The fix for this situation is to take the barrel off, chuck it in a lathe, and take a couple thou off the breech end and the shoulder. Then rebarrel and check with your gauges. If it won't close on the go, don't be so aggressive with the reamer.

·
Gold Bullet Member and Noted Curmudgeon
100,657 Posts
True, but if you are a hand loader, you will be stretching the crap out of your brass.I like tight chambers. The fix for this situation is to take the barrel off, chuck it in a lathe, and take a couple thou off the breech end and the shoulder. Then rebarrel and check with your gauges. If it won't close on the go, don't be so aggressive with the reamer.