Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Silver Bullet member
Joined
·
331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's a couple obscure ones I picked up over the last two years. I paid 50 cents for each and they were good reads!

The first one, "WWII from the Turret" , is a self-published book written by D K Strickler and published in 1989. He was a member of the 1st Cavalry Division and he tells his story beginning with his induction, shipping out to Australia, New Guinea, The Phillipines, duty in Japan and then home again. The writing is rough, the spelling is atrocious, but the stories make it a great read !
The second book is an autobiography called "On Watch" , written by Admiral Elmo Zumwalt. Remember him ? I think he wrote this book when he was attempting to run for office in the 70's. I haven't read the whole thing yet (568 pages loaded with what looks like lots of 70's era politics. I need to get rested before I dig into that one) but I did read Chapter 1. It was a great chapter too! He tells the story of being sent to Shanghai in November as a young officer aboard a destroyer where they took the surrender of numerous Japanese. Quite a few interesting stories and the telling of their interaction with undefeated sullen Japanese troops at the end of the war.
Anybody else come up with some obscure books?
Kim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
508 Posts
I have got some good ones in used book stores too. If you like the war from " the other side" these are Japanese Destroyer Captain by Tameichi Hara, I-Boat Captain by Zenji Orita and Suicide Submarine by Yutaka Yokota.. Tameichi Hara was Captain of the light cruiser Yahagi which was sunk with Yamato on her last voyage.....Mariko
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
276 Posts
Many good ones out there! Here are some I have found (in no particular order):

Oba, the last Samurai, by Don Jones
Long the Imperial way, by Hanama Tasaki
Target Tokyo, by Gordon W. Prange, about the Sorge spy ring
Japan’s Imperial Conspiracy, by David Bergamini
Zero, by Okumiya, Horikoshi and Caidin

One that I wish I had back was a 1950’s paperback that if I remember correctly was titled “Kamikaze”, I do not remember the authors name but it was a first person account from a would have been kamikaze pilot, he survived the war because he seems to have been a gifted pilot and was assigned to fly as an escort pilot while the rest of his classmates were kamikaze’s. It was fascinating; it was his whole story from school days thru Army Air Force training to how he escorted his friends on their kamikaze flights, the atomic attacks and the surrender. I purchased it a falling apart paperback at a gun show for fifty cents; I gave it to a friend of mine after I was done reading it.

A good source for out of print books is half.com, if you know the title and perhaps the author you can find many out of print books often at very reasonable prices.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,233 Posts
Many good ones out there! Here are some I have found (in no particular order):

Oba, the last Samurai, by Don Jones
Long the Imperial way, by Hanama Tasaki
Target Tokyo, by Gordon W. Prange, about the Sorge spy ring
Japan’s Imperial Conspiracy, by David Bergamini
Zero, by Okumiya, Horikoshi and Caidin

One that I wish I had back was a 1950’s paperback that if I remember correctly was titled “Kamikaze”, I do not remember the authors name but it was a first person account from a would have been kamikaze pilot, he survived the war because he seems to have been a gifted pilot and was assigned to fly as an escort pilot while the rest of his classmates were kamikaze’s. It was fascinating; it was his whole story from school days thru Army Air Force training to how he escorted his friends on their kamikaze flights, the atomic attacks and the surrender. I purchased it a falling apart paperback at a gun show for fifty cents; I gave it to a friend of mine after I was done reading it.

A good source for out of print books is half.com, if you know the title and perhaps the author you can find many out of print books often at very reasonable prices.
Sorry for the OT reply, but you picked a great avatar. I never considered using a banknote.

C/
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
276 Posts
Thanks! I always liked that banknote, wanted something a little different.
 

·
Kryptonite member
Joined
·
5,765 Posts
"My Army Adventures" by Arthur St.Germaine, Copyright 2006, Lulu Publishing, ID No. 288918 (No other info, no ISBN #?) Believe Amazon has this one. St.Germain was with the Americal Div. on G'canal, Bouganville and in the Philippines. His combat experiences are covered as is everyday life in an Army he fervently disliked and much of the book covers how he did everything in his power to bypass the rules. It's a day-to-day look at life in the Army in the Pacific during WW II and is a great read.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
949 Posts
How about "I Boat Captain", "Destroyer Captain", and "Falling Blossoms" (Japanese soldier's account of battle on Anguar). I'm in the middle of reading "Tin Can Sailors" by Hornfischer. Oba is a good read...can you tell I like memoirs of battle from the Japanese perspective??

Good topic! Eric
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,321 Posts
Hornfisher also has a book out now about survivors of the USS Houston and their work on the Burma/Thai railroad as POWs. I thought it was every bit as good as The Tin Can Sailors which was real good!
I just finished "Halsey's Storm". I was really disappointed in it. Good story but told poorly. I'm not one for $10 words when a nickle word will do. But thats just me. There was also a book by someone in E.B. Sledge's company that told the same story from a different point of view. I enjoyed reading it also.

Ship of Ghosts: The Story of the USS Houston, FDR's Legendary Lost Cruiser James D. Hornfischer
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,233 Posts
I just finished reading "Parade of the Dead" (ISBN # 0-7864-0131-1) by fellow alumnus John R. Bumgarner, MD. It's a compelling account of his survival of the Bataan Death March and subsequent three-year captivity under the Japanese military.

C/
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
949 Posts
There was also a book by someone in E.B. Sledge's company that told the same story from a different point of view. I enjoyed reading it also.

Ship of Ghosts: The Story of the USS Houston, FDR's Legendary Lost Cruiser James D. Hornfischer
Brotherhood of Heroes: The Marines at Peleliu, 1944--The Bloodiest Battle of the Pacific War by Bill Sloan[/QUOTE]

What book is out there as told by a former K Company, 5th Marines (Sledge's unit)? Do you mean Sloan's book? With all due respect to Sledge's outstanding publication (on my list as the best Peleliu first-hand account), his story has been beaten to death by Historians. Sloan's book is ok but we already know the K Company saga. Russell Davis and Robert Leckie wrote excellent accounts of the battle entitled "Marine At War" and "A Helmet for My Pillow", respectively--from a front-line infantry man's perspective. Those First Marines were decimated on the island.

Thanks for the comments. Eric
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,321 Posts
Howdy Eric, I just came back to edit out the Sloan book because I wasn't sure about the title or author. I couldn't find it in my stacks and ran across his book on Wake Island and thought I probably had something confused.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top