Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to old guns and this forum hope you guys can help me out with this one.

http://www.militaryrifles.com/France/Gras.htm

I just bought a Gras rifle that was made in England

GRAS S/S B/A SERVICE RIFLE: 11mm; 32½" barrel; breech marked kynoch-gun-factory aston; receiver kynoch patent; clear markings; blackened finish to barrel, receiver, furniture & fittings; S/N 72155

Kynoch only operated a gun factory for 3 years 1885 to 1888.

I am curious about this rifles history it is the same as the Gras in the link above except for the bolt which doesn't have the scalloped and knurled section, its all round.

I will post pics as soon as I have some decent ones of the markings

Hope someone can shed some light on this for me

Regards

Dave

·
Registered
156 Posts
Greetings,

I know the British altered Chassepot rifles into the cartridge firing Gras rifle and I have seen several of them. They are not very common. I would be anxious to see pictures.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Kynoch Gras

Kynoch manufactured rifles in various calibres for sale to sportsmen etc based on the French Gras if you have a look at a military Gras you will see there are a few differences with the bolt etc, dont assume because its based on a Gras that the calibre will be 11x59R as they also were chambered by Kynoch in serveral calibres including 11.15x60 so a chamber cast will be important, I had a look at that rifle at the Rollys last auction and was not able to tell what calibre it may be chambered for. Assuming that where you picked it up from as they are not very common in Australia.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·