Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Silver Bullet Member
1,412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I dont know where to go to find out what kind of Gewher 88 this rifle is. Any info on this? Pictures are kind of lousy but I took them in a hurry. Please let me know anything, I'm a complete newbie to Mausers. and I'v got 4 of them to figure out what they are.

Attachments

·
Gold Bullet member
4,427 Posts
Technically, the Mauser forum gets picky sometimes, it's more of a Mannlicher design.

What you have is the Turkish 88/05/35 rifle, a German Gew88 with stripper-clip feeding modifications further modified by the Turks in the 1930s for modern 8mm and a standardized Turk style stock. Pretty common, worth $200 give or take $75.

·
Silver Bullet Member
1,412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Vaarok, thats just what I needed! How can I find out what year it was made?

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
Looks like a Turkish modified Gew 1888 Comission Rifle that the Germans supplied to their Turkish allie during WWI. It was rebuilt to some degree inTurkey (refinished and a bolt disassembly tube and washer added to the stock like post 1916 Gew 98) . These had more Mannlicher features than Mauser design features and you will likely get more info if you post on the Mannlicher forum.

·
Registered
816 Posts
The one picture is a Gewehr 88 that was re-worked by the Turks in the mid 1930s during their armament program to upgrade all their older rifles to certain standard and caliber (8x57mm Mauser). She should have a new, heavier barrel installed as well. The markings generally are scrubbed on the exterior and the Turkish arsenal that performed the conversion along with the date of conversion are stamped on the receiver.