Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
718 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally took my only 98k out for the first time. Its a CE 43 RC with a strong bore.

Shot at 100 yds and did ok considering I am a novice rifle shooter. Gun was very smooth and I actually think this is my favorite shooter (I'm a Mosin guy).

But I do have 1 issue and that occurs when feeding a new round into the chamber. If I use a longer bullet, like MM 8mm Mauser, they will not feed. The bullet gets 50% to 60% in the chamber and gets stuck on an angle. Further force on the bolt simply puts a bigger scrape in the side of the casing. So, I bought Remington soft point bullets and I can feed them fine about 80% of the time. However, this issue did occur at least once.

Is this an issue with the mag spring? Or the bolt? I'm a lefty, so not sure if I'm puting an unusual angle on the bolt as I slinde forward?

I have a number of milsurps and this is the first time I've encountered a problem like this. Any advice would be appreicated.

Thanks in advance,

CBanker101

·
Registered
All of them
1,613 Posts
feeding

It could simply be that the bullets are not pushed all the way against the back of the magazine, happens easily if you're not feeding with a stripper clip, will cause the bullet to jam in about the orientation you're talking about, I don't know, could be something else I guess. I've always had trouble feeding the short noses, never with the long ones...

·
Registered
718 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks, I'll play around with that. Hope that's it.

I just got done cleaning it and to my surprise, I was really able to brighten up the bore. I think shooting it loosened up some of the crud. One or two more times like this, I should have only very light frosting, if not shinny.

·
Registered
5,106 Posts