Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
My first British Martini Henry (i do own a nice Gehendra), interested in what you all think as I am no expert on these rifles but the price seemed right 375, but also interested in what you think it might be worth. Sorry about quality of pictures will take some better ones asap, but just received rifle and would like some initial feedback. Rifle is just as i un boxed it, I purchased it as being a commercial L.S.A.co 1877 MK2 rifle which from my limited knowledge it pretty much what I hope I have ? I can find no Nepalese or other foreign service marks on it and the only broad arrow is on the cocking indicator. No cracks in the stock bore is dark but looks as it will clean up nice. Much of its original finish to the metal work action is strong and positive. Also noticed if you look at side of barrel under rear sight there are some small dimples anyone know what these are and screw on the right hand side of the action under the number 209 see pictures ?
Thanks for your help

More pics follow link

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/sets/72157623609626403/

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,266 Posts
I'll take your word on the year and maker, since the pics aren't that clear. However it certainly appears to be a commercially produced volunteer rifle in the MK II style. I say MK II style because if it isn't Brit issued, it isn't a Mark anything, since that was an official designation applied to issued arms. Since it is a voluteer rifle, you wouldn't expect to find foreign markings. These were privately owned and maintained and by definition don't have any governmental markings. As such they are also generally found in better cosmetic condition than most issued rifles.