Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The reference book I was reading noted that when the Russians introduced their "D" cartridge the Finns enlarged the chambers of their rifles to fire it and identified the rifles that had been modified with a "D" on the barrel. I assume that by enlarging the chamber the author meant that the area of the chamber was enlarged where the neck of the cartridge would be was enlarged to take the new, larger diameter bullet. However, it seems that the bores of the rifles remained closer to .30 caliber. Certainly my M39 has a bore pretty close to .308. So, did the Finns also include a "forcing cone" or some other device to "squeeze" the larger round to size? Wasn't/isn't there a chance for excessive pressure if they didn't? Lastly, would there have been some accuracy degradation in "Squeezing" the bullet. (I'm new to this rifle. Give me a couple months with it - and decent ammo and weather - and I hope to find out about accuracy on my own. Right now all I can say is that there seems to be potential there.)

·
Mr. Flashy Pants
7,377 Posts
The "D" cartridge is the Finnish D166 and the throat was enlarged to accept this bullet which has a bigger ogive, not a larger diameter. Because the D166 bullet is larger than the Soviet bullet the rifles could also shoot captured ammo. The work on the guns was prompted by changes in Finnish ammo and the mark is based on their cartridge, not the Soviets.

·
Registered
413 Posts
Ogives?

The "D" cartridge is the Finnish D166 and the throat was enlarged to accept this bullet which has a bigger ogive, not a larger diameter. Because the D166 bullet is larger than the Soviet bullet the rifles could also shoot captured ammo. The work on the guns was prompted by changes in Finnish ammo and the mark is based on their cartridge, not the Soviets.[/quote]