Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
258 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The term hollowpoint for my early years meant lead tips with fairly large holes in them and that's possibly because of pistol ammo, never really paid attention till now. Now I buy bullets that have almost no hole and are entirely jacketed. Got them for use in some worn Mosin Nagants and an Enfield. Bought these http://www.grafs.com/retail/catalog/product/productId/6289 . I also have some Wolf 7.62x39 with this same type small hole in the tip. Even though Graffs talks about expansion in the add for those bullets, they do not discuss hunting use. I have noticed in some reloading data I've browsed that match grade BTHP are not to be used for hunting, only target. Can someone explain what the differences of the match verses other types of HP and what gives with the tiny hole?

Can ya tell I'm new at this?

·
Diamond Member
13,476 Posts
I figure that I am about to link you to more information on ballistics than you ever wanted to know, But if you read it all you will have your answer and more. http://www.frfrogspad.com/ballisti.htm

You could just skip to the end labeled " terminal ballistics" but you would miss alot.