Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Platinum Bullet Member with clusters
2,180 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Chip, attached are the photos you requested. I acquired the complete barreled action to serial number 2 with box mag, including screws and buttplate. I had to determine the configuration of the stock, the rear barrel band, and front bayonet housing. The barrel at end does have lugs to prevent rotation of the band.

Three features led to the decision that it had a folding bayonet configuration - lugs on barrel at end, set back of front sight, and curvature of trigger guard. Note that guard curves outward at forward end. That is to help nestle the folded bayonet. I made the stock from a piece of walnut I had. I combined a T44 rear barrel band and a T22 band to get the correct config. I studied the experimental T44 band on page 68 of MROJ and did my best to duplicate that one from an existing first variation front band. That was quite a chore since the barrel diameter on the T22 experimental is significantly larger than the T44 so had to make a new front end on the band and silver solder in place. The rest of the band was modified significantly to follow the wear marks on the barrel, plus groove were machined on the interior of the band to clear the barrel lugs. I then modified a T44 bayonet to fit the band and resulting rifle config. For a novice machinist that was a labor of love, lots of work.

Anyway, I wasn't going to be satisfied 'til I had that carbine restocked so I could play with it. There is at least one T22 experimental rifle with box mag. I've got the photos but do not know where it is. Bud Waite, when he was technical editor of Rifleman, knew of it but didn't feel comfortable telling me who had it. So I continue to dream. They're out there if you keep looking.

·
Registered
479 Posts