Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
932 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at posting or enven taking digital pics. All I used was natural sunlight I have had this gun for 10 years or so and I fell it to be original, but have never seen or heard of a 98K fully phosphated, although there were P38's and 98K bayonets finished in this manner Gun is totally matching and non-import marked. I am interested in all comments or opinions and I am NOT FISHING The gun is not for sale, I am only interested in it's originality Thanks Here goes ....... RETREAD

·
Moderator / Diamond member
3,687 Posts
The gun has been refinished in the past. DOT 1944 guns in the double letter suffix were made prior to the introduction of any phosphate finish, with the earliest appearance of phosphate in the 80,000 no letter range, and that is just on a follower.

A few points- the finish is even and one color, almost looks Israeli- all the German phosphate is blotchy and thin, with different parts a different color most times. Also, that one is too green. The biggest givaway (other than the fact there were no all phosphate dot rifles) is the fact that EVERYTHING is phosphate, even the bayonet lug and recoil lug. It looks like a nice rifle, but not original. I'm sure you could find someone who thought it was original- there are plenty of inexperienced collectors that might (not saying you are selling, just if you sold it).

·
Registered
1,163 Posts
They even phosphated the cleaning rod! I'm sure the follower spring probably is as well,heh. Somebody had too much time,and Phospho on their hands.....

·
Banned
2,870 Posts
Sad thing is it looked to be in decent shape before being re-done.....even with no original bluing left it would be worth more as it was, than as it is. Not trying to knock your rifle....just being blunt honest. It looks nice, and will sell well probably if you did, but collectors wise it is shot.