Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts
C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
May one of you professional's give tips on checking headspace on the kar98. Do I need to remove extracter from bolt like I do on the Mosin Nagant?

·
Gold Bullet member
7,709 Posts
I'm not a professional but I watched my gunsmith check the headspace on my k98. He pulled the bolt out of the rifle, removed the bolt shroud/firing pin, inserted the guage in the bolt under the extractor, gently pushed the bolt into the reciever, and then tried to close the bolt with just a little force to determine if the bolt would close on a field gauge. My bolt only went down about halfway, so he said it was good to go.

C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Zachary78. After your info I can take it from there. By the way what's a good safe company?

·
Gold Bullet member
7,131 Posts
See above, but you don't have to remove ANYTHING.
You have to hold the bolt stop lever open as you install the bolt with the gauge held by the extractor claw and then the follower stops forward movement push down on it with a probe or screwdriver.
If your floorplate pops off without a struggle, do it that way.
If your extractor claw will not hold the gauge tight enough to keep it from falling out, then you may be able to feed the gauge into the mag and treat it as if it was a round holding the nose of it to the rear as you slide the bolt forward.
I found one yesterday that would not hold the gauge, but it WOULD feed the gauge from the mag well just like a round.

C

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Okay, Now the next question. Is it really not a good idea to use go/no go gauges on milisurp? Someone posted to use field gauge only. Of course I've read the opposite in books on milisurp.

·
Gold Bullet member
7,131 Posts
Go-no-go MUST be used when reaming a chamber such as when a barrel is replaced.
Field gauge is just that, to employed on a "used" barrel/receiver set up.