Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning,

I found this close to a river near Richmond in South West London. all I can tell is that it’s a revolver of some kind. I Don’t know much about guns but it has like a stem that goes underneath the barrel so it’s not a Webley service revolver or anything From the world wars I don’t think. It kind of resembles a colt - but apart from a passing ‘boys’ gun knowledge and a heavy interest in history I have no knowledge about them in such specific detail as to be able to identify one from its rusty barrel and chamber. can anyone help as I’d love to know how old it is.

kind regards
stephen

Hello!

·
Registered
333 Posts
A little oil and you should have her firing in no time! Very interesting find, but my initial impression is that it's a cap/toy gun. It looks like a seam runs the length under the barrel.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
1942Arisaka
well she still shoots straight, but no doubt the oil will give the trigger a bit more slickness! 😂
yes it’s totally ruined!
But I didn’t even consider it could be a cap gun or toy gun!
thank you so much for your reply and help! 😊

I can’t believe I didn’t consider it could be a toy! Doh!

it’s just that it was heavy and it’s because It’s by an old shot tower and where King Charles Used to do lots of military exercises Before the English Civil War. The road parallel is actually called Powder Mill Lane. (I have a few musket balls I’ve found around there) and also I pulled out a German incendiary bomb out of the same bit of river a few days before that So I didn't consider it.