Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
1,622 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
.............NOTE: all photo's at the bottom ofthe thread in order..........................

Brett257
Gunboards Member

43 Posts
Posted - 05/28/2005 : 11:07:32 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some of you responed to my last post about some 98ks I was considering buying. You noted what you believed to be stock refinishing. Can you all provide a list of tell-tale signs that a stock has been refinished. Since I'm still learning about the art of gun collecting I just wanted to make sure I get all my ducks in a row.

Thanks,
Brett

Brett257
Gunboards Member

43 Posts
Posted - 05/29/2005 : 09:23:26 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for the great reply!!! I appreciate the info and will look at all the rifles I consider buying in the future using your guidelines.

Brett

mrfarb
Gunboards.Com Gold Star Member

1388 Posts
Posted - 05/29/2005 : 10:12:25 AM

Very informative and well laid out post Bob! You are the man!

Check out my website- www.latewar.com

graf

USA
1294 Posts
Posted - 05/29/2005 : 2:00:35 PM

I agree, first rate & will absolutely save a collector some $$ if followed!
- hell, it should be a handout at every gun show for that matter; and along with Farb’s fake detection on his website should be made a pinned thread… you newer collectors are lucky to get BiO & Farbs short takes as it took me hundreds of dollars & many a disappointment to get to where they just outlined for free, heed the information & you’ll avoid more than half the learning curve.

quote:
Originally posted by mrfarb

Very informative and well laid out post Bob! You are the man!

Editor Military Rifle Journal - Eventual website:
http://militaryriflejournal.com/

http://gewehr98.com/

Spitzenmeister
Gunboards.Com Silver Star Member

USA
572 Posts
Posted - 05/29/2005 : 10:54:54 PM

quote: