Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Gold Bullet member
1,542 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Kind of a reloading question: Has anyone here had experience with pulling bullets from Bulgarian 7.62 ammo? I have a few hundred rounds of 50's bulgy that unfortunately has a lot of corrosion on the cases and around the primers. I figured I'd pull the bullets and use them for .303 reloads.

I'm using a press mounted bullet extractor (hornady I think) but can't get the bullets to budge from the brass. I've got the rounds in a shell holder and locked down with the puller collet and can't get any movement on the rounds. Are they sealed to the cases??

Any suggestions or help are much appreciated.

T

·
Registered
457 Posts
I have no experience in what you are doing, but have read similar threads and what has been advised is to try to seat the bullet deeper before pulling them as it breaks the seal and makes them easier to pull out.

·
Registered
20,630 Posts
Definitely do this! Don't seat them very much deeper, quit when you feel the seal break.
It only takes a nudge to break this seal so follow the advice above. To address use of such bullets for 303 reloading, I have done so for a few years. My loads for Enfields in 303 British caliber are fine for 300 yd shooting using these bullets. Fine is defined as 6 inch or below sized groups at 300 yds with iron sights. There is heavy ball and light ball Bulgarian 54R ammo. Use reloading data for the right weight bullet and you should have satisfactory results in hand loads. Not match performance but definitely far better than out of spam can 54R ammo performance.

·
Registered
13,911 Posts
I find that using a kinetic puller is a lot quicker (AND a lot more exercise) than using a collet puller, but in EITHER case, it will pay you to 'nudge' the bullet a bit before you try pulling it.

·
Registered
207 Posts