Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, let me introduce myself.

I'm a poor college student (so I have a very tight budget) and I've decided I'd like to buy a rifle of my own, for plinking, target shooting, and perhaps some limited hunting.

I discovered the Mosin-Nagant, searching around on the Internet, and it seems like it's exactly what I'm looking for. From what I've read, they're available very affordably, they're fairly accurate, and they're reliable. Plus, I'm a history buff, and the fact that they're Soviet WWII surplus is a cincher. I'd a lot rather shoot something with "character," if you will, than something made of plastic, from China, that I bought at Wal-Mart.

So now my question is, how best to go about buying one? I don't have any gun stores locally that carry military surplus weapons, so online is probably what it's going to have to be. I've seen a couple of sites offering $69.99 Moisin-Nagants, and this seems exactly like what I'm looking for .....except that I can't afford to get a POS, and I'm nervous about buying "sight unseen." What do you all suggest? Should I spring for a $70 gun, or pay $10 more for one with a hex receiver? (Somewhere, I read those were made better.) Are the "hand picked" fees for the cosmetics or the bore worth it? Any ideas, suggestions, tips, or general advice about these guns and getting started with them would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Eric

P.S.: from what I've seen, I think I prefer the M91/30 better than the shorter M44 carbine. But, I'm open to correction, if it's needed :)

·
Registered
383 Posts
Welcome to the Boards, Eric.