Gunboards Forums banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
2,734 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am importing this both for its importance (just see the many, many 9,3x57 related postings in the old boards), and because it was updated in the interstice period with a rather valuable update:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hankhillc3h8
Posted - 07/29/2007 : 2:13:17 PM

does anyone have a ballisticians table for the 9.3*57mm? i cant find a source for ammo locally and not really seeing much online i went to sarco this weekend and fell inlove with a mauser in there bargin bin in this caliber so id love to know more....sorry for my lack of knowledge but this is my first try at european mausers i had spanish 7mms and a argy but really love the finish on these guys...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pettson
Posted - 07/29/2007 : 2:30:21 PM

Norma has a neat little ballistics tool on their site. You can fiddle with the numbers for the factory ammo, or enter your own data;

www.norma.cc

It's under "Ballistics" in the menu.

Pettson

BFaucett
Posted - 07/29/2007 : 6:53:46 PM

As I just recently acquired a 9.3x57, I was curious how its ballistics compared to some other cartridges so I put together this little table.

Edited by - BFaucett on 08/03/2007 10:48:40 AM

Here's the loading data from Norma's web site that I downloaded and saved on July 24, 2007:

Cheers! -Bob F.

LeeSpeed
Posted - 07/30/2007 : 09:05:08 AM

Bob:

Thanks for the chart. That about sums it up!

Anyone contemplating a purchase of a 9.3x57 should remember that there is very little published data and pressure information so that means experimental and "in-the-dark" loading for the most part. Some enjoy this and some might not. For those who don't, the x57 might not be for them.