Gunboards Forums banner

Appropriate rifle to mate with my Aussie 4MD/SA marked Hooky

1K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  artyldr01 
#1 ·
Hello all.

I have a 11 '09 dated, J.A.C. Pattern 1907 bayonet with the hook still intact. The bayonet is marked SA and the scabbard marked 4MD with a Serial number 12307. The leather scabbard is EFD marked but the throat and tip are Lithgow marked.

I would like to find the "correct" rifle to match the vintage and markings of the bayonet.

I understand the order to stop manufacturing of hooked bayonets and to remove the hook was issued October 29, 1913. Knowing military systems that doesn't mean they all went away instantly. I believe they were used by ANZAC units at least in early engagements such as Gallipoli.

If my research on 4MD and the South Australian forces prior to and during WW1 is correct (and I am far from an expert), they did not serve, as whole units overseas as part of the AIF rather they remained part of the home defense I believe.

All that said, to find an appropriate rifle, in a perfect world be a pre-1916, 4MD marked, No1 Mk III Lithgow or perhaps a British manufactured but 4MD marked rifle?

Understanding that finding the "perfect" rifle could be next to impossible especiallyhere in the U.S., any Australian marked No1 MkIII would be acceptable?

Bottom line, a No1 MkIII* would NOT be appropriate, correct?

Thank you in advance for helping me focus my search!

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

See less See more
#3 ·
Nice looking find![emoji106]
Basically did the same thing settled (happy to) on Lithgow 15 Mklll to a 1908 Wilkerson hooky.Just for a thought
MD wasn’t too much of my criteria.
Since you researched a few things a tidbit [emoji106]
At ANZAC or at Gallipoli mean exactly the same thing.
Cheer’s.