Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3,929 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This one arrived yesterday thanks to another fine member here. The action is shimmed, stock plug repairs look familiar, and the front sight is taller than my other non-Finned M91s. It is not Finn dry or pine tar though. Normal shellac type stock finish. Probably just a Balkan used one, but I got it because I thought it was a nice M91. The bore is really nice too, and still in cosmoline. I do not think it has been shot since importation. Any thoughts on it would be appreciated as obviously I am still learning. There are no import marks on it. It is a 1916 Tula, and the crest has not been defaced.

Thanks,
Doby

Edited to add: I am assuming it is Balkan, but that is a guess.

·
Registered
3,929 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you nwellons. The c marks seem to say CCC7. At first I thought they were CCCP, lol.

·
Registered
3,929 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks Sgt Lamb! I figured you would know. Then the CCC7 is a unit or rack number?

·
Registered
3,929 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 · (Edited)
Did the Romanians acquire these by purchase before or after WWII, after WWI or by capture during WWI? Or none of the above? The crest - weren't most Balkans defaced or removed? Edited to add this: In looking at the barrel shank markings I can see that there was a definite attempt to deface the PTG crest. I changed glasses and got it in better light. Some of it remains, but the attempt is now obvious to me.

I am finding little information on Balkan M91s out there. Most dealing with Romanian rifles seem to point to pater Soviet era stuff. So I apologize for what are likely very basic questions.

·
Registered
3,929 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 · (Edited)

I know this is highly unlikely as to the possible Finnish use of this rifle - and probably I am just seeing Finn everywhere like that fly in the other thread - BUT...