Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Platinum Bullet Member and Certified Curmudgeon
15,533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'd like to start a thread of photos taken in action, or immediately after action, by the participants. These should be rare photos because normally when people are shooting at you, you don't have time to be taking photos.

This photo essay was taken in 1969 at Phan Rang AB in Viet Nam. I worked as an airlift controller at the ALCE, 834th Air Division Airlift Control Element. We received intermittent night harassment mortar and rocket attacks. Only once was the perimeter penetrated by VC.

The ALCE was located on the second floor of a building. When the rocket attack started, I ran downstairs and flattened myself on the aircraft ramp in front of the building. I chose not to run to a sandbag bunker because Chicom 107mm rockets were exploding and I did not want to be standing up longer than necessary.

I grabbed my camera on the way out of the building and was able to get a photo of two fuel trucks burning immediately after the rocket explosion, while we were still receiving incoming. I saw a rocket explode on top of a steel aircraft revetment. For a split second there was a perfect symmetrical star burst when it blew up. Sorry, no photo of that.

1. Fuel trucks burning. Note burning stream of fuel pouring out of the side of the right truck.
2. Fire truck on left sprays burning fuel trucks. The fire truck came right away, before the attack finished.
3. Hole in side of truck that produced burning stream of fuel.
4. Aftermath. The fuel truck driver told me that he had been asleep in the seat of the truck when the attack started. He ran to a sandbag bunker about where the photo was taken from and the truck was hit after he got in the bunker.
5. More aftermath.
6. Impact point on concrete aircraft ramp.
7. Photo taken from the ALCE showing a group of men standing around the impact point.