Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
2,808 Posts
I have a lot of experience with the broomhandles as I used to collect them in the 70's and 80's. There was not much ammo available for them at the time and we shot the tokarev ammo in them with not terribly bad results for a while. We started noticing the locking blocks in the broomies were cracking. I saw at least 3 guns with cracked blocks and another with a broken one. It doesn't necessarily need to blow up the gun to cause damage. It also doesn't mean that one round through the gun will damage it but over time it will damage it. Are the rounds interchangeable???? Thats a judgement call because the tok round was copied from the mauser round which was copied from the Borschardt round. The loadings are not the same though and you shouldn't use the mauser round in the Borschardt and the tok round in the mauser. As an interesting aside, I tried firing the mauser commercial ammo in a PPSh41 and a Steyr MP30 and it wouldn't cycle either gun. It would fire but not push the bolt back far enough to even eject. That difference of 200fps is quite a lot recoil wise and a lot pressure wise.

Good luck arguing with the writer, He may or may not be open to reality and it may have just been a slip on his part.

Frank

· Registered
2,808 Posts