Gunboards Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have been shooting carcani on and off since 2004. The closest i have come to very good accuracy was in 2005 with an antique terni m91 long and hornady ammo. But when the temps would drop below zero the hornady ammo would tumble in that rifle. I tried the hornady load in an m38 moschetto and almost had a catastrophic failure. So i kind of gave up. About a year ago i started casting my own bullets and really got into the 6.5 carcano again. This time i found a bullet that is absolutely amazing in every carbine or rifle i have fired excluding the 91/24. The bullet is the noe 270-151 plain base. I have tried this bullet with unique and 2400 and am amazed. Clay pidgeons at 100yrds are toast. Just thought id share my results.

·
Registered
Italian WWI and WWII arms and military Mannlichers
206 Posts
My goal is to cast my own bullets one day. My first priority is trying some of these round nose bullets I have that measure at about .266. I've heard that should be near a sweet spot for bullet size.

·
Registered
4,031 Posts
I have not considered lead bullets becasue none of my (recent imported) Carcano have smooth enough bores. My 38TS is a good candidate, but; I plan to look for a good jacketed bullet for that. I posted a link to a very good discussion from several years back. My main take away was to slug the bores. A rough barrel, could have a slug driven in and pushed back out the same end.

Berthiercollector did not provide a lot of detail, but; it sounds like he was shooting the Hornady 268 factory ammo. The first bore was way oversize and the M38 was too tight? Now, the OP has a lead bullet (270??) that works in both. That is great. There is a guy on you tube posting similar results with his cast. Do not be fooled into thinking all Carcano are the same. Very knowledgeable people have posted to the contrary.